Home News IMO State Politics: 7 PDP Lawmakers Boycott Plenary, Protest Cut In Salaries,...

IMO State Politics: 7 PDP Lawmakers Boycott Plenary, Protest Cut In Salaries, Lopsided Allowances

Seven IMO State Lawmakers Elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party who staged a boycott of plenary in the State Assembly on Wednesday and Thursday over discrepancies in the payment of their salaries and allowances said they will not return to the house execpt the matter is addressed holistically.
According to Chidiebube Okeoma of PUNCH writing from Owerri  gathered that the allowances due to the minority, deputy minority leaders, and minority whip, were withheld by the state government.
The seven PDP lawmakers are: Okey Onyekanma, Anyadike Nwosu, Frank Ugboma, Philip Ejiogu, Paschal Okorie, Tochi Okoro and Solomon Anukam, who accused the state government of playing dangerous politics. We learnt that the money in question was allegedly shared by the lawmakers of the All Progressives Congress.
The opposition lawmakers in a statement, in Owerri, on Thursday, said the state government was clamping down on the opposition in the state.
They described the action as unlawful insisting that no antic can stop them from speaking truth to power. They demanded that their entitlements be paid in full.
When contacted, the Chairman, House Committee on Information, Dominic Ezerioha, denied the allegations. He said he was not aware that any such thing happened.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here